The Humanities and Social Sciences

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Ag. Dean, Faculty of the Humanities and Social Science – Prof. R.O Atoye


 B.A. (HONS) ENGLISH, M. A. ENGLISH (IFE), PH. D. SHEFFIELD                                                        


Born in Ilawe Ekiti in the Ekiti Division of the old Western Region, later Oyo State, Ondo State, and now Ekiti State of Nigeria, in that order, Prof. Atoye had his early education in Ilawe-Ekiti, and Ado Ekiti, before obtaining the Teachers’ Grade Two Certificate at St Peters’ Teachers’ College in Akure.

 Prof Atoye gained admission to the B.A. English programme at the then University of Ife in 1970 and graduated with a B. A. (Hons.) Second Class Lower Division degree in English in June, 1973.

After the NYSC service year in June, 1974, Prof Atoye was employed as a Graduate Assistant in his old Department at the University of Ife where he completed the M. A. English programme in 1976. He proceeded to the United Kingdom in 1977 and obtained the Ph.D.  English Language at the University of Sheffield in July, 1980.

Prof Atoye continued teaching at the Department of English in the Faculty of Arts, University of Ife, now Obafemi Awolowo University, with Sabbaticals and approved Leaves of Absence at the then Obafemi Awolowo University, Ado Ekiti, the National University of Singapore in South East Asia and Osun State University, Osogbo, till he retired as a Professor in September, 2009.

He has, since retirement, taken up appointment as Professor on Contract at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, the Osun State University, Osogbo, the Ekiti State  University, Ado Ekiti and the Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin, Kwara State, in that order.

 Professor Atoye is currently the Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin, Kwara State. He is very grateful for the many opportunities and favours that it has pleased God to give him, including a happy family and a sound mind in a sound body, even at his advanced age.

The Departments of the Faculty

1. Department of Languages

2. Department of Islamic Studies

3. Department of Sociology

4. Department of History and International Studies

5. Department of Political Science and Public Administration

6. Department of Mass Communication